GlutenPosted 6 years ago under Uncategorized
Gluten free diets are very popular right now, but there is a good reason for this.
Gluten free foods are simply foods that do not contain and grains that have gluten in them. Many people are finding they feel better and their health improves when they remove gluten from their diets. (1)
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein that is made up of gliadin and glutenin. Gluten cannot be digested in the human digestive tract, but in most individuals it passes through the intestines without causing any harm or notice. In individuals with celiac disease it damages the small intestine due to an immune response. Gluten acts as an emulsifier and it helps to bind food together. Wheat is the most commonly eaten grain that contains gluten, but the list of grains that contain gluten is actually pretty long. (2) It includes:
Gluten and other food sensitivities
Many people who react to gluten are also sensitive to oats. Although oats do not contain gluten, the protein in oats is similar. Also, to avoid gluten with oats it is necessary to purchase gluten free oats and most oats are processed in the same plants as wheat and other gluten containing grains. Cross contamination is pretty much guaranteed if the oats are not gluten free.
In addition to oats, many gluten sensitive individuals react to cow dairy. Some are sensitive to other gluten free grains.